Herring
210 calories per 1 serving, quantity not specified (85 g), from USDA FoodData Central.
Nutrition facts
- Per 1 serving, quantity not specified (85 g)% Daily Value
- Calories210 kcal
- Total Fat12 g16%
- Saturated Fat3 g14%
- Trans Fat—
- Cholesterol60 mg20%
- Sodium300 mg13%
- Total Carbohydrate7 g2%
- Dietary Fiber0 g1%
- Total Sugars0 g
- Added Sugars—
- Protein17 g
- Vitamin D3.8 mcg20%
- Calcium60 mg4%
- Iron1.5 mg8%
- Potassium310 mg6%
- Monounsaturated fat4.5 g
- Polyunsaturated fat3 g
- Vitamin A40 mcg RAE4%
- Vitamin C1 mg0%
- Vitamin E1.5 mg10%
- Vitamin K3 mcg2%
- Thiamin0.15 mg15%
- Riboflavin0.24 mg20%
- Vitamin B60.27 mg15%
- Folate30 mcg DFE8%
- Vitamin B1210.97 mcg460%
- Phosphorus220 mg20%
- Magnesium30 mg8%
- Zinc1 mg8%
- Selenium34 mcg60%
- Copper0.1 mg10%
- Choline60 mg10%
%DV for adults and children 4 and older.
Show the mathHide the math
- Calories208 kcal → 210 kcal · nearest 10 kcal
- Total Fat12.2 g → 12 g · nearest 1 g
- Saturated Fat2.88 g → 3 g · nearest 0.5 g
- Cholesterol60.4 mg → 60 mg · nearest 5 mg
- Sodium303 mg → 300 mg · nearest 10 mg
- Total Carbohydrate6.62 g → 7 g · nearest 1 g
- Dietary Fiber0.255 g → 0 g · shown as 0
- Total Sugars0.119 g → 0 g · shown as 0
- Protein17.1 g → 17 g · nearest 1 g
- Vitamin D3.83 mcg → 3.8 mcg · nearest 0.1 mcg (FDA guidance)
- Calcium59.5 mg → 60 mg · nearest 10 mg (FDA guidance)
- Iron1.48 mg → 1.5 mg · nearest 0.1 mg (FDA guidance)
- Potassium305 mg → 310 mg · nearest 10 mg (FDA guidance)
USDA's value for this serving, then what a label prints. Where these numbers come from
Using Herring in a recipe?
Get the full FDA Nutrition Facts label for your recipe with BetterMenu.
Get the full FDA labelWhere the calories come from
- Protein33% of calories
- Fat53% of calories
- Carbohydrate13% of calories
Questions about Herring
How many calories are in Herring?
Herring has 210 calories per 1 serving, quantity not specified (85 g) and 250 per 100 g, as a Nutrition Facts label rounds them.
How much protein is in Herring?
Herring has 17 g of protein per 1 serving, quantity not specified (85 g) and 20 g per 100 g.
What does %DV mean here?
% Daily Value is the share of FDA's Daily Value in one serving, for adults and children 4 and older. Amounts and percentages are rounded the way a Nutrition Facts label rounds them. Protein shows no %DV: a label needs a protein quality score for it.
Where does this data come from?
- Nutrient values: USDA FoodData Central, Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS), released 2024-10-31, FDC ID 2706261.
- Daily Values and label rounding: FDA, 21 CFR 101.9, as of 2026-02-12.
- Rounding of each amount: 21 CFR 101.9(c).
- %DV: 21 CFR 101.9(d)(7)(ii).
More fish
For information only. Check the sources before printing a label.